Inglourious Basterds

inglourious-basterds-posterThere have been so many WWII movies made since WWII ended.  In fact, I’m willing to bet that there have been more films, documentaries, and features made about WWII than years passed since it ended from every point of view and from every major developed country.  And I will say this: Inglourious Basterds is probably unlike any other WWII movie ever made.  That’s what you get when you’re dealing with the work of Quentin Tarantino.  

Inglourious Basterds (yes that’s how it’s spelled) is the story of this small collection of American, British, and German soldiers in Nazi-occupied France hunting and killing Nazis.  Not since Kill Bill (ironically, also a Tarantino film) have I spent so much time reading subtitles in an American film.  But with Kill Bill, the only subtitles I had to read were every few scenes and was when they spoke Japanese (for Volume I) and Chinese (for Volume II).  Inglourious Basterds was mostly in German or French (including some ‘Italian’) and since I spent most of the film reading subtitles, I was unable to connect with the characters emotionally.  I guess it’s because I was focusing so much on WHAT was being said and not listening for the emotion behind it.

The movie had typical vintage Tarantino shots and a surprisingly chronological story with great acting.  There were however many long scenes of strictly dialogue and as entertaining as the scenes were, I found myself having to read through most of it and sometimes the subtitles moved faster than I could read.  I believe it wasn’t Tarantino’s finest work, but certainly not his worst either.  I’ll have to see it a few more times to get a real understanding of it.

2 thoughts on “Inglourious Basterds

  1. How dare you be turned off by reading subtitles! Any true film critic and scholar will tell you that the more subtitles the better!

    No movie is truly great unless 80% of it’s dialogue is subtitled. Who wants to listen to a movie when you can read it, like a scholar!

Leave a Reply

