Becoming A Serious Collector

I am by no stretch of the imagination a horder.  That actually sounds like my father now that I think about it.  But I had decided last year that I wanted to start a collection; a very specific collection.  I wanted to start collecting obscure and autographed fan art of my favorite movies and video games of the past and present.  I first started this last year when I was in a Blockbuster video and saw a rather large canvas painting depicting the movie “Fight Club.”  It was painted by Justin Reed.

Then I went to San Francisco last Summer for a brief trip and came across a street vendor in Fisherman’s Wharf where I bought a spray painting of the Joker from “The Dark Knight.”  Then last Christmas, my girlfriend framed that plus another original artwork that I had put away for years.

Then for a long time nothing happened… and then there was WonderCon 2011

I bought a piece of movie history signed by Michael Keaton and Jack Nicholson from Tim Burton’s “Batman” from 1989 and some amazing fanart of “Donnie Darko.”

I had gone with a friend to Antiquities, a memorabilia place located on Pier 39 that had some of the most impressive collection of pieces of history of film, music, and even history.  They have Abraham Lincoln’s signature there!  Yes 16th president Lincoln.  

At Antiquities they had a large limited edition poster of “The Dark Knight” signed by Heather Ledger.  The salesman was very persistant and lowered the price up to 50% less than the posted price but I didn’t budge.  I went back yesterday with a friend and saw it again and the salesman was there again.  Instead of staring at it the whole time I was there like before, I looked at the other stuff they had and just played the tourist.  There were several 8×10 photos signed by pretty much any and all major actor you can think of from several different films that were obviously a lot cheaper.

I saw an 8×10 signed photo of Doug Jones (Pan’s Labyrinth) that I had told the guy I would buy.  “But wait…” the salesman says to me…

He goes into a filing cabinet and takes out an 8×10 of a Christian Bale Batman from “The Dark Knight” signed and says to me that he’ll give me all 3 for the price he had given me 3 weeks before…

I couldn’t say “no.”

Leave a Reply

