MY (and I can’t stress that enough) My Top 10 Video Games of All Time

I just asked my friends a question on my Facebook page: for them to give me their top 10 video games of all time.  To any gamer, this is a nearly impossible task to do without endless debate and internal struggle.  Most of us would demand that we break it down by franchise, gaming system, genre, main character, even series.   Nevertheless, I asked them because I was just asked the very same question as part of a job application.  At first my friends simply responded by mentioning one game or one series (Mega Man, Final Fantasy, etc.) but none were able to give me a top 10 list of their own.  So I shared with them my top 10 list and the responses wereranging from “How could you not include…?” and “I could have sworn you would include _____” when in reality I didn’t even think it would have made my top 50 list.  Now the thing I said before about gamers begging to be able to break it down in some form or another… well I have to admit that I somewhat broken it down in some format.  It should be no surprise to anyone that I broke in down (at least in part) by storyline (this would include overall stories, characters, character arc, plot twists, etc.)  Without further ado, here’s my top 10 list (from a primarily storyline influence):

Rank

Game

System

Year of Release

1

Batman Arkham City

Multiplatform

2011

2

Super Mario World

Super Nintendo

1991

3

Assassin’s Creed II

Multiplatform

2009

4

Final Fantasy VII

Sony Playstation

1997

5

Super Mario Bros. 3

Nintendo

1990

6

The Legend of Zelda

Nintendo

1986

7

Golden Eye 007

N64

1997

8

Resident Evil 4

Gamecube

2005

9

Splinter Cell: Conviction

Multiplatform

2010

10

Metal Gear Solid

Sony Playstation

1998

Discuss…

DISCLAIMER* Obviously I haven’t played EVERY video game so cut me some slack if I didn’t include your favorite game.  I’m open to suggestions.

Leave a Reply

