Happy Birthday to Me: A Look Back

This past Sunday, Hurricane Isaac notwithstanding, I had a birthday.  My birthday falls during the most active part of Hurricane season so it isn’t common that there be at least a threat of a major storm during this time.  Hurricane Katrina, before it devastated New Orleans, hit Miami on my birthday.  Hurricane Andrew (which was one of the worst storms in the history of South Florida) hit us two days before my ninth birthday.  But this year was definitely my lowest-key birthday to date.  Not to say that I’m big on celebrating it, because in all honesty I’m not.  Here’s what does happen to me as my birthday approaches:
I always get a little depressed every year a few weeks before my birthday.  Why?  For as long as I can remember, I’ve been making a mental (and sometime written) to-do list of everything I wanted to accomplish the previous year.  Most of time very few – if any – of these things are accomplished.  I’m still trying to officially move out of my parent’s house and that hasn’t happened yet.  Not to mention a huge list I have of side projects, films, and work-related things I need to accomplish and now that I completed my year-long contract at my most recent job, I can dedicate my time towards those things to I’m happy.

Anyway if you want to feel really young (or old) depending on my readers, here are a few things that were released in the year of my birth:

1. The very first Super Mario Bros. Arcade Game in Japan.

2. The movies “Scarface” and “Star Wars: The Return of The Jedi.”

3. “Diff’rent Strokes”

4. The “Thriller” music video.

And so on…

Now as I inch ever-so-closer to the big 3 – 0, I have an updated list and my expectations and pressure are higher than ever.  Stay tuned because a lot of what I hope to accomplish will be shared right here.

Leave a Reply

