The Simpsons: Tapped Out (iOS)

The Simpsons: Tapped OutI can never have too much of “The Simpsons.”  It’s a show that my generation and beyond have grown up with.  Several video games have been made over the years that have had a varied success or popularity.  My personal favorite is “The Simpsons Game” released on XBox 360 back in 2007.  A few hand-held games have been released since the very beginning but nothing that ever truly sparked my interest.  That all changed the other day.  While prepping the new iPod that my girlfriend let me bring to LA, I searched through the laundry list of apps that I would need for it.  You know the usuals: my ESPN, my bank, Netflix, etc.  Then I started looking at the games and actually saw a special that offered The Simpsons: Tapped Out for free on iOS.  

I dont’ know if that offer is still free because my iTunes only tells me that the game has already been downloaded.  But if they do charge you for it, it’s well worth it.  It’s sorta a cross of “Sim City” and “The Sims” only set in Springfield with characters from the show.  I’ve played “Sim City” FOREVER AGO back on Windows 3.5 or Windows 95 or something.  I was so horrible at that game.  I kept causing my water mains to burst and power lines to short circuit.

The Simpsons: Tapped Out - Fat TonyWith “The Sims” it was simple enough but as strange as this may sound, I didn’t have any emotional connection to the characters.  And I’m the one who created them!  Even in other video games where the character has already been fully created for me I’ve had more of an emotional connection with them!  Needless to say, these characters need no introduction or plea in order for me to be emotionally connected with them.

“The Simpsons: Tapped Out” is a game where you tap your fingers away in order to create a new Springfield after Homer causes another nuclear meltdown.  Time and missions yield money, XP, and donuts in order for you to level up and build and unlock more of Springfield and its citizens.  The perfect game to play on your iPod, iPhone, or iPad as soon as you wake up in the morning and right before you go to bed.

2 thoughts on “The Simpsons: Tapped Out (iOS)

  1. Pingback: The Simpsons: Tapped Out (iOS)

Leave a Reply

