The Movies I Want Made (or Remade) That Don’t Exist Yet

cld summer 2011The Summer Blockbuster season is just starting this year.  I, like most movie lovers, am excited and can’t wait to see them.  However it has occurred to me that I have spent the last few years writing about movies that I have seen, anticipating upcoming films, and never about films I would want to see.  As a screenwriter and filmmaker, I find this outrageous and I should be punished for not addressing this sooner.  Obviously I am not going to share any of my original stories or ideas, but I would like to express interest in movies that we all know have been for whatever reason not thought of, delayed, or cancelled.

So without further ado, here are some of the movies I want made (or remade) that don’t exist yet and why.

1. “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” (Directed by Guillermo del Toro)

del-toro-bayReasoning: Let’s get the most awkward one out of the way first.  We all know I’ve been ranting all over Facebook and my page regarding my to-be-put-mildly “lack of confidence” in Michael Bay’s directorial rendition and adaptation.  Even though no one has seen a single frame of production yet, fans who grew up on the show and the older movies from 20 plus years ago like I did are in an uproar.  For those who don’t know, del Toro directed the “Hellboy” series as well as a marvelous repertoire of Spanish films such as “El Orfanato” and “Pan’s Labyrinth ”  His dark, goth style and creature-creating talents, I believe, would make a tremendous adaptation from the original comic glory days.

2.  Metal Gear Solid

Metal Gear Solid, Hugh JackmanReasoning: With a storyline that goes all the way back to 1987 and all written by THE SAME ONE GUY (Hideo Kojima,) it’s a big mystery to me as to why this project keeps getting delayed or cancelled due to budgeting disputes or who knows what.  Supposedly Kojima himself has already written the script for the film and it was well received by producers.  Either way,I have the perfect cast they better cast Hugh Jackman as Solid Snake before he gets too old or loses his hype to play the role.  If you know the franchise, consider also Steve Buscemi as Psycho Mantis, Sir Anthony Hopkins as The Ancient One, Christopher Lloyd as Revolver Ocelot, Vince Vaughn as Vamp, and Scott Adkins as Raiden.

3. Super Mario Bros. (Remake)

mario-gameReasoning: I shouldn’t even have to say anything for my wanting to have this movie redone.  Need I remind you the abomination which miraculously enough, Nintendo NEVER SIGNED THE RIGHTS OVER FOR.  Even watching the original trailer still makes me cringe… Brace yourself.

It’s been 20 years and this franchise, I think above all others that I mention in this post, is most deserving of a revival.  Frankly anyone who takes the reigns on this will be an improvement.  (Except Michael Bay — HA!!)

4. Ready Player One

Ready Player One movieReasoning: I actually have mentioned this in previous posts. “Ready Player One” is a brilliant and insightful book about the mother of all virtual reality scavenger hunts.  You can read my post reviewing the book here and who should be cast in the film here.

5. Who Framed Roger Rabbit? (Remake)

TomWhalenWhoFramedRogerRabbitReasoning: The only film on my list that was actually awesome in its original form.  Granted there are some movies that are great as their originals and should never even be considered to be attempted to be redone.  (Shame on you “Karate Kid” remakers.)  However, I believe “Who Framed Roger Rabbit” deserves a classy 21st century makeover.  And you know who should direct it?  Ang Lee!  Imagine how visually insane and gorgeous that would be!  (Or get Michael Bay and he’ll cast Megan Fox as Jessica Rabbit but it will be visually worthless.)

6. Gargoyles (Live-Action/CG)

gargoyles_poster_by_fixer79-d3a87u5Reasoning: THIS is an animated series form the 90’s that deserves a live-action/CG adaptation.  The story revolves around a group of gargoyles who protected a castle in Medieval times and were turned to stone by magic spell for a thousand years and awaken in modern day New York City.  (This should also be directed by Guillermo del Toro.)

6. Deadpool (Ryan Reynolds)

deadpoolReasoning: Even though Ryan Reynolds did sorta play this character already with bad interpretation in X-Men Origins: Wolverine, I contest that there has to be an origin story for “The Merc With a Mouth.”  It’s essentially Van Wilder swinging katanas.  How pimp would that be?

What do you think of my list?  What movie do you want made?

One thought on “The Movies I Want Made (or Remade) That Don’t Exist Yet

  1. I say no to Megan Fox as Jessica Rabbit, and yes to a new Roger Rabbit! I agree, the new Karate Kid was a disgrace.

Leave a Reply

