The 50 Greatest Actors Alive: #49 – Sigourney Weaver

4e07c6bc-7127-47f4-aeea-fa4e312eaa6e_sigourney_49Took me a while, but I finally found the continuing articles about the 50 greatest living actors. The next actor on the list is certainly a respectable veteran with a short laundry list of respectable bodies of work. However, (as I had hesitantly started to mention on my first review) I fear that perhaps a big part of the selection process for these living actors (at least on the lower end of the list) are more based on the revenue of the films they are in. Without further ado, I give you Yahoo’s 49th Greatest Living Actor: Sigourney Weaver.alien-sigourney-weaver101810 I was first introduced to Sigourney Weaver in the movie “Ghostbusters.” I was only a year old when the movie came out, but saw it when I was like six or seven. Back then, I obviously knew nothing about what I know now regarding film. So I guess I’d have to say that my first true introduction to her at the very least as a movie enthusiast was from probably one of her most regaled roles: the role as Ripley in the “Alien” series. Her 6-foot stature and natural super-tone frame contributed a great deal to the physical transformation she went through for the role.

Since then, she has continued to have a very respectable career in Summer Blockbusters such as “Avatar,” “The Village,” and “Working Girl” in no particular order. Truthfully, I am not familiar with Sigourney’s entire body of work, but respectfully maybe she shouldn’t be on this list all.

Sigourney Weaver has been nominated for three Oscars, the last of which came in 1988.

Leave a Reply

