The 50 Greatest Actors Alive: #47 – Paul Giamatti

52e2d880-9411-11e3-a200-3d1a63f899ac_PaulGiamatti_47Once again, I feel a little unqualified to speak on behalf of this selection and placement. That being said, respectfully, my review will be short, sweet, and perhaps a little ambiguous.

Paul Giamatti is a highly-respected actor who has been in a lot of great films, but in a supporting role. He has been in amazing films such as “Saving Private Ryan,” “Man on The Moon,” “The Illusionist,” and “Cinderella Man.”

For me, his three greatest and most memorable roles (in film) were as the amateur wine expert going through a midlife crisis in “Sideways,” the failed doctor/landlord in “Lady in The Water,” and as a complete nut job in “Shoot Em’ Up.”He also delivered an amazing performance as John Adams in the HBO mini-series based on his life and impact on American History.

As the list continues to countdown, I can’t help but hypothesize or fantasize about how I would construct my own list. If you were to look through my previous posts, you’ll see I have quite a few top 10 posts of my own.

Leave a Reply

