Chef

chef-movieI would like to take this opportunity to thank Jon Favreau. I would like to thank him for portraying my childhood, my hometown, my culture, and especially the food from my culture in a way that was accurate and honest. I would also like to thank him for the nostalgia, the music, and showing my fiancé and I Little Havana, Versailles, and Hoy Como Ayer in all its historic Miami beauty, relevance, and glory.

As I go off on a tangent about a much wider spectrum that goes beyond a movie review, I’ve learned something from living in Los Angeles. And I guess this goes with every other place on the planet… When you move to a new place and you tell people you meet about where you came from, they’re never truly going to understand your perspective. It’s not because they’re dumb or ignorant, it’s just that they’ve never been there. I’ve also learned just how prideful I am about my hometown, the food, and how much I miss it. Absence makes the heart grow fonder, right? 

Chef-Jon-Favreau-Trailer“Chef” is a film written by, directed by, and starring Jon Favreau. He plays a creative executive chef named Carl Casper who feels creatively bankrupt being forced to cook from the same boring menu for the last five years at a semi-successful restaurant. After being denied by the restaurant manager to customize the menu for a restaurant critic that visits the restaurant, Casper quits. With the help of his financially successful ex-wife, his sous chef, and son, he goes to Miami to pick up a food truck that was donated to him. He becomes fascinated with Cuban food and culture (the same culture as his ex-wife played by Sofía Vergara,) and decides to innovate Cuban food as he drives cross-country to return to California.

The use of Twitter plays a huge role in the story and character development. Its accuracy, humor, and innovative graphic as the tweets were written showed an expressive and simple visual representation of just how powerful social media can be in marketing and the ever-growing popularity of food trucks.

“Chef” is phenomenal. It’s funny, honest, and relatable (especially for me.) The acting is superb. The cast is hilarious. I can’t wait to watch it again and I can’t wait to buy it on blu-ray to see the special features over how Favreau researched for the film. You gotta go see this, and then go out for the best Cuban food you can find. That’s what I did!

One thought on “Chef

  1. I didn’t know how homesick I was till I saw this movie. It was a total delight. I love the cast and am impressed that a non-Cuban portrayed the culture so well. I completely agree with you!

Leave a Reply

