TMNT Official Trailer #3 (or #2 if you don’t count the teaser)

1504105_247890822001355_5293127211617210206_n 10302020_247903068666797_1059590709358152771_n 10371916_247938978663206_3147265557563117141_n 10462562_248114721978965_4955405730397207403_nCan you believe it’s already summer? The summer movie season has already kicked off and for some reason, it doesn’t feel like the years of summer blockbusters past. Maybe it’s the fact that I’m older or maybe it’s because this year’s Marvel film (Guardians of The Galaxy) is yet to premiere. Nevertheless, and what you all come here for, the third and most revealing “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” trailer premiered today. Launched by a dirt-cheap and pointless PR stunt just yesterday that had Megan Fox (April O’Neil) trying to start several hashtag campaigns where you vote for your favorite turtle to then have exclusive movie posters of them released. (In case you’re wondering, the order went Leonardo, Michelangelo, Raphael, and Donatello.) Now that we have the most detailed and clear view of the turtles to-date, I can confirm my past reservations about the turtles appearance. Plain and simple, I don’t like how their faces looks. Never before in the history of the comics or TV shows have they had nostrils, lips, or any real discernible feature on their faces. Aside from their obvious differences in personalities and voices, the only way I could ever tell them apart was from the color of their bandanas, and that’s tough enough as it is for me because I’m colorblind! It’s creative, I’ll give them that. Leonardo wears one of those beaded seat covers you see in every taxi to make it look like a samurai chest plate, Michelangelo looks and sounds like a surfer (and maybe a little Mexican?) Donatello is certainly the most ostentatious with his attire looking like the ghost of Harold Ramis with all that Ghostbusters gear, and Raphael just looks angry.

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 3.13.02 PMIf this is your first formal introduction of TMNT, do you like how they look? What would you change?

I’ve talked about this constant times from several angles in previous posts when it comes to re-imagining or remaking franchises, especially one with such a deep (and mostly ignored) true origin, it’s IMPOSSIBLE ( I don’t care if you’re Michael Bay, JJ Abrams, whoever) to make everyone happy. Am I defending Michael Bay? Of course not. But while we’re at it, let’s get the other weird detail out of the way: The Foot Clan look like some Special Forces rejects wearing poorly-rendered kabuki masks.

Now onto the trailer…

This latest trailer certainly reminded me that Michael Bay certainly had a hand in the production, but it also made it abundantly clear that he didn’t direct it. And THAT was such a wonderful feeling. Cheesy one-liners? There’s plenty of them throughout the trailer, none more cheesy than the “Batman voice” line. They just had to go there… I’m still debating how to feel about that.

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 3.25.58 PMI did notice something of interest that could potentially be a huge plot point in this whole thing. Remember how everyone was steaming over William Fichtner’s casting as The Shredder? I’m still steamed about that, too. But what happens at the 1:15 mark of the trailer? He’s talking to someone (who’s face you can’t see) about taking HIS armor to the next level. Could that be Oroku Saki? Could we all have been played or rope-a-doped? I know Michael Bay isn’t that smart, but as I said, Bay isn’t the director or writer on this one.

FYI: As I was taking the screenshot on my Mac from the trailer to post this frame, the brightness contrast automatically amplifies significantly and I could see his face. I don’t know who it is, but it’s safe to say that it’s not an Asian actor. Try it yourself and see.

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 3.24.17 PM

Shredder is clearly Bay-esque in his design; something of cross between a transformer and a samurai from a sci-fi franchise. Perhaps the only thing I’ve seen so far in any of these trailers or production stills that have released that almost everyone of the original TMNT generation is happy about. Time will only tell as to how the rest of him is received.

I think we have also been tremendously spoiled by the adaptations of Christopher Nolan, and his real-world approach to Batman, one of the most famous comic book franchises of all time. I think ultimately, my generation believes they can do better with the re-introduction of the franchise. (Myself included.) And a select few probably could, (myself included.)

Ultimately I’m still undecided, but I will admit that I am more optimistic than before. What say you?

Leave a Reply

