This Was His Verse: RIP Robin Williams

I don’t even know where to begin with this one… I had gotten goosebumps when I heard the news.

11-04About an hour ago, I learned the tragic news that Robin Williams passed away from an apparent suicide. He was 63 years old. My first introduction to Robin Williams was when I was very young watching him on reruns of Mork and Mindy. Since then he has transcended comedy and acting with some of the most hilarious and obscene stand-up to go along with some of the most memorable characters I’ve ever seen in modern cinema. For me,

tumblr_mvva2hIJLm1sor4z6o1_500Robin Williams became a household name in my eyes when he portrayed The Genie in Aladdin when I was 9 years old. Even then I was so in awe of how he was able to change his voice on a whim. Fast forward five years and he delivers his Oscar-Winning performance playing Sean Maguire, a brilliant but troubled psychiatrist in Good Will Hunting. This was his only Oscar, but he was nominated for four in total. (Dead Poet’s Society; The Fisher King; Good Morning, Vietnam)

When I first saw Good Will Hunting, I never believed Robin Williams could be a dramatic actor. I don’t think anybody did. Later on, I saw him play truly disturbed and anguished characters in What Dreams May Come, One Hour Photo, and The Final Cut. The last two are probably not as well-known to everyone but deserve to be seen if you haven’t already.

My mind is all over the place and I know that this is no where near my best post, but I wanted leave you with this:

Robin Williams was one of the greatest comedians/actors of my generation. His stand-up in 2002 Live On Broadway gave New Yorkers the first sense of life returning back to normal. His speech from Dead Poet’s Society quoting Walt Whitman (now used by Apple in a recent iPad commercial) is one of the most inspirational things I’ve ever heard, and his interview with James Lipton on Inside The Actor’s Studio is a MUST WATCH!

Thank you, Robin Williams. Your verse is a lifetime of achievements, memories, and accolade well-deserved. Even while alive, you were considered a legend, and now future comedians and actors alike will look to you as the one comic they wish they could’ve seen live in their lifetime.

 

Leave a Reply

