The Lost Art & Appeal Of The Board Game

10846Why don’t people play board games anymore? Did you ever have those Monopoly family game nights that had you awake till 4:00 in the morning mortgaging Mediterranean Ave. so you could avoid declaring bankruptcy? Because I did. Did your dad ever cringe every time you landed on his hotel-graced Boardwalk and immediately declare that you had a miss-roll to get out of having to pay him $2000? Because mine didn’t.

Have you seen the selection at your local Barnes & Noble lately? It’s not just Monopoly anymore. This is 2015. The selection there is nerdtasitc! They have new table-tops, card, and board games in addition to several classics with specific themes like Zelda Monopoly or “The Nightmare Before Christmas” Yahtzee.  

Does anyone born after the year 2000 even know what a board game is? We are spending way too much time on the Internet as a society. Yes, I understand the multi-layered irony, but I don’t care. Just taking the nearest exit to get off of the information super-highway has become exceedingly difficult because of the sputtering, digital talking heads distracting you into merging onto their lanes without you even realizing it. Pretty much the same way a magician fools six-year olds. We ALL for for it.

Did you get all the symbolism there? Yes? No? Good. It won’t happen again.From the time I was about 6 till I was about 11, Monopoly was my board game of choice. The goal was simple. Pass Go, collect $200, repeat until you were able to own all the property on the board; try not to land yourself in jail while you’re at it. When I was a little older, I used to play this game called Hotels with my sister. The premise was similar but for some reason she always beat me. (She later went on to earn four different business degrees.)

Sprinkle in some Parcheesi, Scrabble, The Game of Life, Clue, and Risk along the way and you have a stimulating childhood.

 

79225imagesCard games were pretty relevant to me also. I can’t remember a day of sixth grade, but I do remember playing Magic: The Gathering the whole time I attended the sixth grade. I was terrible at it. Both sixth grade and Magic: The Gathering, but that is neither here nor there. I don’t think I ever won a single game. I also played a lot of Uno. That was easier. I never got into the whole Yu-Gi Oh or Pokemon craze. I was too old when it hit, but I did spend three years selling tens of thousands of booster packs of them at my job during their heyday.

I never got into Dungeons & Dragons or any other game that had a game master that dictated the events of the adventure; where no two scenarios are ever the same. Except for one. The only game I tried to get into, but alas, had no one to play with, was this game called “Hero Quest.” “Hero Quest” was a fantasy-adventure game that had you exploring haunted dungeons filled with booby traps and monsters. I’d love to take a crack at this again, but sadly my game pieces have been lost and eaten by my dogs over the years.

02

Hero Quest

I am now a soon-to-be 32 going on 13 man-child. I want to get back into it. I miss the camaraderie of it all. The term “game night” should be brought back into our lexicon. Think about it, do you ever sit in your home on a Friday or Saturday night trying to figure out what you should do? I challenge you to put together a game night. It’ll get all you friends together and it’s a lot cheaper than a night on the town. I’m trying to put one together myself. I’ll keep you posted. Let me know if you wanna be a part of it or have any suggestions.

 

Leave a Reply

