“Ready Player One” Movie Set For Dec. 15, 2017

ready_player_one_by_lerms-d51yrzjBack in 2011, I told you all about this little book that changed my life called Ready Player One. It fused together everything I loved about my childhood (video games, movies, and pop-culture) and brought them into this world that was both utopian and dystopian at the same time. Aside from the theme of the book itself, the story is phenomenal. A scavenger hunt for the ages. Ten pages into its 384-page saga, I knew it would eventually be adapted into a movie.

For over four years and after several read-throughs, I speculated and theorized everything from dream cast to dream director to dream writer. Well now I don’t have to dream anymore… I just have to wait another two years and four months.

“Ready Player One” will be directed by Steven Spielberg under the production juggernauts of Warner Bros., Village Roadshow, and DreamWorks. This will be Spielberg’s first time returning to Warner Bros. since 2001 (“A.I.: Artificial Intelligence”). This is beyond perfect because much of the book references Spielberg himself and his immortalized films that I grew up on such as E.T. and the Indiana Jones franchise. (The book even references how in the mind of the main character, there are only three IJ films.)

The script was written by Zak Penn who did “The Incredible Hulk” (the good one with Edward Norton), “X-2”, and “The Avengers” among others. So yeah, it’s safe to say the script is in good hands, also.

I’m not ashamed to say this: this is my Episode VII. This is what I will create a countdown on Twitter for. Set for a 2017 holiday season release, I will continue to keep you all updated on developments once production starts such as casting reveals, official screenshots, and official film poster as they come.

Leave a Reply

