Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out Of The Shadows Trailer

teenage-mutant-ninja-turtles-out-shadows-bebop-rocksteadySo last year the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles reboot soiled my eyes and traumatized my childhood memories in ways oh so foul. You can read my scathing review of it (full of spoilers) here. But the child within me still lives on. Often times stronger than the adult in me. Nevertheless, the new trailer dropped and this time there are a lot more familiar faces (both mutated and human) that are much more appealing and familiar to my childhood. Would you know it, they look the part too!

It’s still Michael Bay producing and you can clearly see it within the trailer. There’s a highway scene that looks like a clear ripoff from “The Dark Knight.” But let’s focus on what’s good, because as I said, the child in me NEEDS a TMNT movie that works!

The mutated Rocksteady and Bebop look fantastic! They even look better than the turtles themselves. The turtles still look like four Shreks on steroids, but to me, it looks like they’ve been toned down a bit. Their nostrils certainly not as predominant as the original. But maybe that’s just me. What do you think?

The Turtle Van looks so boss! It even shoots out manholes like the toy I had growing up.

Shredder is actually a Japanese guy! There certainly won’t be any rushes to rewrite or reshoot any main plot points of a 30 year old franchise this time. I will say that there is a different director (Dave Green) and fewer writers, which gives me optimistic pause at best. And is this alien uprising a foreshadowing of Krang either in this film or the upcoming third one?

Anyway… the film drops June 3, 2016. In the meantime, I’ll just have to keep going on my fan script and read up on the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle/Batman crossover comic that released yesterday. Hopefully Santa can hook it up.

Without further ado, here’s the new trailer. What do you guys think? Am I right to be hopeful, or should I just prepare myself already for the inevitable letdown?

Leave a Reply

