Levar Burton Reads

Levar Burton was a man whose name I’ve known very well since my early childhood. In 1983, “Reading Rainbow” hit the PBS lineup. I loved the idea of being able to watch someone read me a story and not have to wait until bedtime for my mom to read me one. I’ve always been a lover of books and stories long before I realized I could write my own.

Fast forward 30 years and I come across this new podcast simply called “Levar Burton Reads” and it’s everything I could hope for and more. A “Reading Rainbow” for adults. A simplistic concept and structure where Levar Burton briefly introduces a personal favorite short story of his and then reads it to you. His voice is just as soothing and comforting as I remembered it from when I was a child. Only now, he discusses stories with more adult themes, concepts, and conflicts. So far, he has read to me stories of varied genres as I would drive to work or run errands throughout the day. When he finishes the story, he offers a brief analysis and reflection of the story and why it was that he chose that story in the first place.

For anybody who would like to take a quick break from their audiobooks, but still want to hear great stories, this podcast is a nostalgic masterpiece that deserves your listening ear.

Listen to the introductory episode here and then subscribe. It’s a thing of beauty.

But you don’t have to take my word for it…

https://rss.art19.com/levar-burton-reads

 

Leave a Reply

