“Joker” Teaser Trailer, Production Shoot, and Update

Back in February, I mentioned that Joaquin Phoenix had been in negotiations to play the clown prince of darkness in a stand-alone Joker film. Evidently I was right and it looks like we’ll be getting the movie earlier than I had originally anticipated. With an October 4, 2019 release date according to Variety.com, it’s a full year earlier than what I had estimated.

Look, I just saw this video about two hours ago when I got off work. I’m not sure what to think. Except I know it looks better than Jared Leto’s Joker already. But I, and millions of other Batman universe fans, am forced to give an unfair and nearly impossible expectation when comparing it to Heath Ledger’s performance in Christopher Nolan’s masterpiece.

I know it’s unfair, but can you blame me?

I will say this, however. Joaquin Phoenix is in my opinion a wonderful and underrated actor. I think he may surprise a lot of people with his performance. Whether or not it’s going to be a pleasant surprise or not, only time will tell.

Rest assured that once a full trailer goes up, probably by spring 2019, I’ll be sure to report back to you.

Leave a comment