The 50 Greatest Actors Alive: #50 – Brad Pitt

ae3e4e97-eda3-4d53-aaf8-073e1f08a96b_greatest-actors-alive-50-pitt-3-Imagine my surprise when I came across this article by Yahoo Movies just the other day. An article proclaiming that they (Yahoo Movies) are going to dedicate an entire year to telling its readers who they believe are the 50 greatest living actors. You can read the Yahoo article here. It should come to no surprise to anyone that once I read about this, my fiancé and I started rolling out names of actors that we know that will definitely make the list. I’m going to be as objective as I can for this. After all, for once, I’m not the one making the lists. I guarantee you that certain actors will make the list that I won’t agree with, maybe some will be robbed, but what I hope most of all from this is that I am introduced to NEW AND OTHERWISE AMAZING TALENT that I’ve never heard of before because they’re foreign or work exclusively on smaller budget independent movies.

Without further ado, let’s bring on #50: Brad Pitt.

As I said, I’m going to try to be as objective as possible and give Yahoo Movies the benefit of the doubt. Besides, how can I scream and argue in protest over the first one on the list? Brad Pitt has been around for a long time. Depending on how old you are or what movies you’re into, you might think of him as a hopeless romantic like in “Meet Joe Black” or “Legends of The Fall.” Others might think of him as this crazy action star like in “Troy,” “Mr. and Mrs. Smith,” or “World War Z.” Or maybe you just like the “Oceans” remakes.

Truth be told, Brad Pitt has had a more than respectable career with some unforgettable rolls and characters. For me, his best performance as an actor was one of his first-and with very little screen time- in Terry Gilliam’s “12 Monkeys.” His best roll while taking on a lead performance is that of Tyler Durden in “Fight Club.” This movie and this roll (along with the masterful work of Edward Norton) is what I think really makes Pitt worthy of being on this list at all. Honorable mention go to “Se7en,” “Inglorious Basterds,” and “Snatch” to name a few. Pitt played great minor characters in these, and it was the movie as a whole that made them great.

7ae43aa3-e669-4899-8e8d-6e160964ead0_TwelveMonkeysPitt do date has been nominated for 5 Oscars and won the Golden Globe for his performance in “!2 Monkeys.”

Leave a comment